DAGRIN: A STAR IS GONE


The tragedy that the same artist I have previously referred to as Nigeria’s most promising act has just been confirmed dead after his recent motor accident in Lagos, Nigeria. I am not a heavy listener of Nigerian music nor do I understand one cumulative sentence of the Yoruba language, yet not only was I aware of this boy but I listened to his songs on many occasions making him till date my only real regret for not understanding Yoruba. I argued that while other popular Nigerian artists sang for 10% of the country, Dagrin was more than likely to appeal to a much higher percentage being that he only made music in the language of one-third of Nigeria’s 140 million+ population and simultaneously maintained a very westernized style of music that appealed to an even greater percentage. These statistics would have seen him through to status as one of the most successful talents in the modern-day Nigerian music industry.

The news came to me this morning and screwed up my breakfast. And it was only 2 days ago I called him lucky to have had an accident not nearly fatal but enough to really jumpstart his career, seeing as for the first time his name was on the lips and status updates of very many. I had hoped he would enjoy the “Death of an artist” benefits while being alive and a huge part of me hopes still that this is all one huge publicity stunt that will come to light in a day or two.

To us, you were Dagrin but to your family you were just Olaitan. And my heart goes out deeply to the people who will be scarred by your exit in a year from today. R.I.P Star. You will be missed by a whole nation. And what is that if not history making? Bless you son.

This entry was posted in News Feed and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to DAGRIN: A STAR IS GONE

  1. barry says:

    Hey man I read your blog and I never make comments but just had to for this one. DaGrin was an artiste that transcended culture and he’ll be sorely missed.
    On a lighter note,you need to get Rosetta Stone,the Yoruba version!
    Good job Lenny,Awesome tribute.

  2. Jay says:

    Thanks bro. Nice one.

  3. mizchif says:

    I didn’t know him personally, but i’ve spent the past hour crying, and although like you, i can not understand a full sentence in Yoruba, i jammed to his music, make that jam, cause my speakers are plugged in right now and i’m paying homage to his raw talent.
    Why do the good ones die so young?

  4. ziggy says:

    Great tribute..i didn’t really know about d guy or his song until last week.Ever since i hav been addicted.Feel so down right now and I wish his passing away will at least teach us 1 thing or 2.
    Nice job lenny, keep up the good work.

  5. Slim says:

    Dagrin we love you but God love you more than we do! Forever young dagrin…

  6. Wizslim says:

    His death was a shock,loaded with raw lyrical talent,he was d only Nigerian dat will ever bring out d originality.my heart goes out to his family mostly his mum.nice tribute Jay lenny,well done.-Barak Ogrin.R.I.P

  7. Wizslim says:

    His death was a shock,loaded with raw lyrical talent,he was d only Nigerian dat will ever bring out d originality.my heart goes out to his family mostly his mum.nice tribute jay.-Barak Ogrin.R.I.P

  8. obi says:

    REST IN PEACE,GOD BLESS UR SOUL AMEN

Leave a Reply

